The content of these pages is developed and maintained by, and is the sole responsibility of, the individual senator's office and may not reflect the views of the Nebraska Legislature. Questions and comments about the content should be directed to the senator's office at firstname.lastname@example.org
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Brett Waite,
Legislative Aide to Senator Brasch
Office: (402) 471-2728
State Treasurer’s 2016 Unclaimed Property Report Published
State Senator Lydia Brasch encourages constituents of District 16 to review State Treasurer Don Stenberg’s 2016 Unclaimed Property Report. Many individuals from District 16 have been pleasantly surprised to discover they indeed had unclaimed property held in trust by the State.
The State Treasurer’s Unclaimed Property Division is a repository for money and other personal assets considered lost or abandoned. Unclaimed property includes certificates of deposits, checking and savings accounts, commissions, contents of safe deposit boxes, death benefits, dividends, gift certificates, insurance payments, money orders, paid-up life insurance, refunds, stocks, uncashed checks, and unpaid wages. The unclaimed property may be a small dollar amount or could be in the hundreds of dollars or more from several combined smaller amounts found.
The Unclaimed Property Report is scheduled to be published in 16 Nebraska newspapers, as required by statute, throughout March and early April. The State Treasurer’s Office holds more than $170 million in property for 350,000 Nebraskans. In 2015, the State Treasurer returned more than $11.8 million to more than 15,000 owners and plans to return even more in 2016.
March 6 – Omaha World Herald and Scottsbluff Star-Herald
March 19 – Norfolk Daily News, Beatrice Daily Sun, Fremont Tribune, York News-Times, and Columbus Telegram
March 20 – Lincoln Journal Star
April 1 – Holdrege Citizen, McCook Gazette, and Sydney Sun-Telegraph
April 2 – Alliance Times-Herald, Hastings Tribune, and Kearney Hub
April 3 – Grand Island Independent and North Platte Telegraph
If you would like to obtain a copy of the entire Unclaimed Property Report, you may contact the State Treasurer’s Office at (402) 471-2455, or check for unclaimed property at any time online at https://treasurer.nebraska.gov/.