The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Sen. Matt Hansen

Sen. Matt Hansen

District 26

The content of these pages is developed and maintained by, and is the sole responsibility of, the individual senator's office and may not reflect the views of the Nebraska Legislature. Questions and comments about the content should be directed to the senator's office at

Unicameral Update
Published April 7, 2016

Lawmakers gave final approval April 7 to a bill that makes a number of changes to the state’s election laws.

LB874, introduced by Gretna Sen. John Murante, makes the process for filling vacancies on school boards consistent statewide by stipulating that an appointee will fill a vacancy for the remainder of the unexpired term.

The bill includes provisions of four additional bills.

LB879, originally introduced by Murante, changes the requirement to place a candidate’s name on the partisan general election ballot by petition to at least 10 percent of the registered voters entitled to vote for the office.

LB787, originally introduced by Lincoln Sen. Adam Morfeld, allows a voter to voluntarily photograph his or her ballot after it is marked and reveal the photograph.

LB741, originally introduced by Lincoln Sen. Matt Hansen, removes from the list of banned electioneering practices the display of yard signs on private property within 200 feet of a polling place that is not under common ownership with the polling place.

LB682, originally introduced by Omaha Sen. Joni Craighead, changes the deadline for a voter to request a vote-by-mail ballot from 4 p.m. of the Wednesday preceding the election to the close of business on the second Friday preceding the election.

The bill also designates the 22nd day before an election as the earliest date that an election commissioner or county clerk may send out vote-by-mail ballots. That date currently is the 20th day before an election.

LB874 passed on a 45-0 vote and takes effect immediately.

Sen. Matt Hansen

District 26
Room #2010
P.O. Box 94604
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-2610
Search Senator Page:
Committee Assignments
Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
Find Your Senator