The content of these pages is developed and maintained by, and is the sole responsibility of, the individual senator's office and may not reflect the views of the Nebraska Legislature. Questions and comments about the content should be directed to the senator's office at firstname.lastname@example.org
For Immediate Release
January 20, 2016, Lincoln, NE – State Senator Matt Hansen introduced legislative bill 1089 to increase the “tip wage” for Nebraska workers. It would be the first increase in the “tip wage” in 25 years. The new wage would take effect August 1, 2016, and would initially increase the wage to $3.60 per hour and then to $4.50 per hour on August 1, 2017.
“Nebraska’s ‘tip wage’ ranks significantly behind our neighboring states and directly encourages many of our best and brightest Nebraskans to seek employment and opportunity in other states,” Hansen said. “Colorado, Iowa and South Dakota all have a higher “tip wage” than Nebraska. The “tip wage” has been $2.13 an hour since 1991 – even while inflation has continued to rise.
“It is important to note that, in 2014, a vast majority of Nebraskans voted to increase the hourly minimum wage for non-tipped wage earners. I believe that vote sends a strong message to the Legislature that it needs to take action to provide this ‘tip wage’ increase for Nebraska workers and their families.”
For More Information:
State Senator Matt Hansen: 402-471-2610
Search Nebraskans for Better Wages on Facebook