The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Sen. Matt Hansen

Sen. Matt Hansen

District 26

The content of these pages is developed and maintained by, and is the sole responsibility of, the individual senator's office and may not reflect the views of the Nebraska Legislature. Questions and comments about the content should be directed to the senator's office at

Published: Wednesday, March 18th, 2015
Unicameral Update

The Executive Board of the Legislature announced appointments to three special investigative committees March 9.

The Developmental Disabilities Special Investigative Committee has been providing ongoing oversight of the placement and care of the developmentally disabled in Nebraska since 2008.

The committee was reauthorized Feb. 27 with the adoption of LR32. Appointed to the committee are:
• Lincoln Sen. Roy Baker;
• Lincoln Sen. Kate Bolz;
• Lincoln Sen. Colby Coash (chairperson);
• Hyannis Sen. Al Davis;
• Omaha Sen. Burke Harr;
• Omaha Sen. Robert Hilkemann; and
• Wahoo Sen. Jerry Johnson.

The ACCESSNebraska Special Investigative Committee was established in 2014. ACCESSNebraska is an online and call center system developed and implemented by the state Department of Health and Human Services to determine public benefit eligibility and deliver benefits to clients.

The committee originally was established in 2014 to investigate an array of problems including long wait times for callers, high worker turnover and lost paperwork. The adoption of LR33 on Feb. 27 authorized continuation of the committee’s oversight of the ACCESSNebraska system.

Appointed to the committee are:
• Omaha Sen. Joni Craighead;
• Bellevue Sen. Sue Crawford;
• Lincoln Sen. Matt Hansen;
• Omaha Sen. Sara Howard (chairperson);
• Omaha Sen. John McCollister;
• Ralston Sen. Merv Riepe; and
• Gering Sen. John Stinner.

The Department of Correctional Services Special Investigative Committee was established in 2014, and was authorized to study the administration of good time laws, policies relating to inmate segregation and the availability of rehabilitative and mental health programs.

LR34, adopted on Feb. 27, reauthorized the committee. Appointed are:
• Lincoln Sen. Kate Bolz;
• Omaha Sen. Ernie Chambers;
• Lincoln Sen. Colby Coash;
• Crete Sen. Laura Ebke;
• Omaha Sen. Bob Krist;
• Omaha Sen. Heath Mello;
• Lincoln Sen. Adam Morfeld;
• Lincoln Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks;
• Columbus Sen. Paul Schumacher;
• Omaha Sen. Les Seiler (chairperson); and
• Gothenburg Sen. Matt Williams.

Sen. Matt Hansen

District 26
Room #2011
P.O. Box 94604
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-2610
Search Senator Page:
Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
Find Your Senator
To Top