The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Education Committee

Hearing Notice: 7/30/2020
July 23rd, 2020

Location: Room 1525
Time: 8:30 AM

Appointment Terrell, Marjean C. – Board of Trustees of the Nebraska State Colleges

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services

Launch Nebraska (Tools, actions, opportunities, and resources to support the complex planning and preparation needed by Nebraska school systems as they work to restart schools and support students as they transition back to school buildings)

U.S. Department of Education

COVID-19 (“Coronavirus”) Information and Resources for Schools and School Personnel

U.S. Department of Education Federal Student Aid announcements


Federal CARES Act

Federal CARES Act Higher Education Summary (from the American Council on Education)

CARES Act: Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund (U.S. Department of Education allocation and application information)

Allocations for Section 18004(a)(1) of the CARES Act to Nebraska Institutions (Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund – Student Aid and Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund – Institutional Portion)

Allocations for Section 18004(a)(2) of the CARES Act to Nebraska Institutions (Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund-Minority Serving Institutions and Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund-Strengthening Institutions Program)

Allocations for Section 18004(a)(3) of the CARES Act to Nebraska Institutions (Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund-FIPSE) Revisions are being made at the federal level in the formula allocation table and methodology for this program.

Allocation Total by Nebraska Institution for Sections 18004(a)(1),18004(a)(2), and 18004(a)(3)

CARES Act: Governor’s Emergency Education Relief Fund (Nebraska allocation: $16,357,685)


Nebraska Public Institutions

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

University of Nebraska Omaha

University of Nebraska Medical Center

University of Nebraska Kearney

Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture


Chadron State College

Peru State College

Wayne State College


Central Community College

Metropolitan Community College

Mid-Plains Community College

Northeast Community College

Southeast Community College

Western Nebraska Community College


Independent Colleges and Universities

Bellevue University

Bryan College of Health Sciences

Clarkson College

College of Saint Mary

Concordia University – Nebraska

Creighton University

Doane University

Hastings College

Midland University

Nebraska Methodist College

Nebraska Wesleyan University

Union College

York College

CDC Coronavirus updates:

Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services Coronavirus updates:

Nebraska Department of Education Coronavirus resources:

Lincoln County Health Department contact information:

West Central District Health Department
111 N Dewey/Suite A, North Platte
Phone: (308) 696-1201
Web site:
(Arthur County/Arthur, Hooker County/Mullen, Lincoln County/North Platte, Logan County/Stapleton, McPherson County/Tryon, Thomas County/Thedford)

NOTE: After each county name is the county seat.

Full list of Nebraska Health Departments contact information:

Nebraska Health Departments

Room 1525 – 1:00 PM



Provide for a statewide school panic button program



Change provisions regarding bullying prevention and education

Room 1525 – 1:30 PM



Require reporting to the Nebraska Early Childhood Professional Record System



Adopt the Extraordinary Increase in Special Education Cost Act



Eliminate oath for teachers and other school employees

Room 1525 – 1:30 PM
Appointment Daniels, Timothy – Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
Appointment Garman, Charles – Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
Appointment Gray, Cindy – Technical Advisory Committee for Statewide Assessment
Appointment Buckendahl, Chad W. – Technical Advisory Committee for Statewide Assessment
LB1001 Crawford Require suicide prevention phone numbers on student identification cards
LB1039 Cavanaugh Adopt the Hunger-Free Schools Act
LR306 Wishart Urge Congress and the President of the United States to enact H. R. 1878 to fully fund the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

Location: Room 1525
Time: 1:30 PM

LB1076 Bolz Change provisions relating to eligible programs for the Community College Gap Assistance Program Act
LB1080 Lathrop Require school policies that prohibit sexual conduct with students and former students
LB1134 Wayne Change enrollment option limits and provisions for part-time enrollment in schools
LB1073 DeBoer Create the School Financing Review Commission, add basic funding aid, and change adjusted valuations, the local effort rate, and certification dates

Location: Room 1525
Time: 1:30 PM

LB1111 McDonnell Create a grant program for the State Treasurer to award private donations and temporary school funds to common schools as prescribed
LB1153 Vargas Change provisions for diploma of high school equivalency testing
LB1151 Vargas Redefine eligible student and provide for prioritization of awards under the Nebraska Opportunity Grant Act
LB1217 Wayne Require individualized response plans following a report of certain types of incidents involving students

Tuesday February 4, 2020

Room 1525


LB1066 Erdman Change provisions for modifying school district boundaries
LB1083 Morfeld Change provisions relating to the Meadowlark Program
LB1166 Brewer Change school district membership requirements as prescribed
LB1131 Groene Change provisions relating to education

Monday February 3, 2020

Room 1525


LB1168 Kolowski Adopt the College Credit Testing Fee Reduction Program Act and the Career-Readiness and Dual-Credit Education Grant Program Act, add a fund to the Access College Early Scholarship Program Act, and change provisions relating to the State Lottery Operation Trust Fund
LB1186 Hilgers Require salary to be paid to injured school employees as prescribed
LB1089 Vargas Require students to complete the FAFSA prior to graduation from high school
Committee Members
  • Sen. Lynne Walz, Chairperson
  • Sen. Jen Day
  • Sen. Lou Ann Linehan
  • Sen. Terrell McKinney
  • Sen. Adam Morfeld
  • Sen. Dave Murman
  • Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks
  • Sen. Rita Sanders
Search Committee Page For:

You are currently browsing the Education Committee blog archives for the year 2020.

Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
Find Your Senator