The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Education Committee

August 20th, 2021

The Education Committee is responsible for processing legislation involving the following subject areas:

  • School districts; organization; powers; transportation; teachers; employees
  • Public, private, and parochial schools; programs; special education; gifted; student assessment; early childhood education; nutrition
  • Postsecondary education; state colleges and universities; community colleges; vocational schools
  • State aid; TEEOSA; school lands and funds
  • State Board of Education; Department of Education; educational service units; learning communities; NETC; Nebraska Public Media
  • Board of Educational Lands and Funds; Board of Trustees of Nebraska State Colleges; Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education; Technical Advisory Committee for Statewide Assessment

During session, the Education Committee meets on Mondays and Tuesdays in Room 1525 on the 1st Floor of the Capitol.

Committee Members
  • Sen. Lynne Walz, Chairperson
  • Sen. Jen Day
  • Sen. Lou Ann Linehan
  • Sen. Terrell McKinney
  • Sen. Adam Morfeld
  • Sen. Dave Murman
  • Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks
  • Sen. Rita Sanders
Search Committee Page For:
Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
View video streamView live streams of floor activity and public hearings

Streaming video provided by Nebraska Public Media

Find Your Senator