The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Executive Board of the Legislative Council

January 4th, 2023

The Legislative Council is governed by an Executive Board, which supervises all legislative services and employees. By law, the board employs personnel and sets salaries as needed “to carry out the intent and activities of the Legislature or the board.” The board is responsible for processing legislation involving the following subject areas:

  • constitutional amendments that govern the Legislature or legislative process
  • legislative candidate eligibility requirements
  • senators’ salaries
  • term limits
  • legislative ethics
  • legislative committees, commissions, and task forces
  • Legislative Council
  • Executive Board

The Executive Board consists of a chairperson, vice chairperson, the speaker, and six other senators. Board members are chosen at the beginning of the first session of a Legislature and serve a two-year term. The Legislature at-large elects the chairperson and vice chairperson. Two board members are chosen to represent each of three geographical caucuses. The chairperson of the Appropriations Committee serves as a nonvoting ex officio member of the board when it considers fiscal matters.

Members of the Executive Board also serve as the Reference Committee, which refers introduced bills, resolutions and gubernatorial appointments to the standing committees according to subject jurisdiction.

If you are not testifying in person on a bill and would like to submit a written position letter to be included in the official hearing record as an exhibit, the letter must be delivered to the office of the committee chair or emailed to the committee’s email address,, by 12:00 p.m. on the last work day prior to the public hearing on the bill or resolution.

Additionally, the letter must include your name and address, state a position of for, against, or neutral on the bill in question and include a request for the letter to be included as part of the public hearing record.

Committee Members
  • Sen. Raymond Aguilar
  • Sen. John Arch
  • Sen. Beau Ballard
  • Sen. Eliot Bostar
  • Sen. John Lowe
  • Sen. Merv Riepe
  • Sen. Julie Slama
  • Sen. Tony Vargas
  • Sen. Robert Clements
Search Committee Page For:

You are currently browsing the Executive Board of the Legislative Council blog archives for the year 2023.

Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
View video streamView live streams of floor activity and public hearings

Streaming video provided by Nebraska Public Media

Find Your Senator