Nebraska State Legislature

SENATOR GALEN HADLEY

District 37 3112 Country Club Lane Kearney, Nebraska 68845 (308) 237-3794

Legislative Address: State Capitol PO Box 94604 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4604 (402) 471-2726 ghadley@leg.ne.gov



COMMITTEES

Chairperson - Revenue Transportation and Telecommunications Committee on Committees

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 23, 2013

CONTACT

Matt Rathje, Committee Clerk 402-471-2726

TAX MODERIZATION COMMITTEE PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE

Lincoln, NE – State Senator Galen Hadley, Chair of the Tax Modernization Committee, has released the schedule of public hearings to be held by the Committee this fall. The Committee was created during this past legislative session by Legislative Resolution 155, which requires the Committee to hold five (5) public hearings across the state on topics of tax reform.

The cities, dates, locations and times are as follows:

Monday, September 23 – Harms Advanced Technology Center, Western Nebraska Community College, Scottsbluff, 4:00 – 7:00 pm. (Mountain Time)

Tuesday, September 24 – North Platte Community College, North Platte, 1:30 pm – 4:30 pm.

Thursday, September 26 – Northeast Nebraska Community College, Lifelong Learning Center, Norfolk, 1:30 – 4:30 pm.

Thursday, October 17 – Metro Community College, South Omaha Campus, Omaha, 1:30 – 4:30 pm.

Friday, October 18 – State Capitol Building, Room 1113, Lincoln, 10:00 – 1:00 pm

Detailed agendas and additional information will be made available prior to the hearings. The public is welcome to testify in person at these hearings. NET Television will provide live streaming of the hearings when possible but there will be no remote testimony.

TAX MODERNIZATION COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Sen. Galen Hadley, Kearney, District 37 - Chair - Income Tax Subcommittee

Sen. Paul Schumacher, Columbus, District 22 – Vice-Chair - Sales Tax Subcommittee Chair

Sen. Tom Hansen, North Platte, District 42 - Property Tax Subcommittee Chair

Sen. Beau McCoy, Omaha, District 39 - Income Tax Subcommittee Chair

Sen. Kate Sullivan, Cedar Rapids, District 41 - Property Tax Subcommittee Sen. Heath Mello, Omaha, District 5 - Income Tax Subcommittee Sen. Kathy Campbell, Lincoln, District 25 - Property Tax Subcommittee Sen. John Harms, Scottsbluff, District 48 - Sales Tax Subcommittee Sen. Ken Schilz, Ogallala, District 47 - Sales Tax Subcommittee Sen. Jeremy Nordquist, Omaha, District 7 - Property Tax Subcommittee Sen. Pete Pirsch, Omaha, District 4 - Property Tax Subcommittee Sen. Burke Harr, Omaha, District 8 - Income Tax Subcommittee Sen. Charlie Janssen, Fremont, District 15 - Sales Tax Subcommittee Sen. Kate Bolz, Lincoln, District 29 - Sales Tax Subcommittee