The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Business and Labor Committee

January 6th, 2021

The Business and Labor Committee is responsible for processing legislation involving the following subject areas:

  • workers’ compensation; Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Court
  • unemployment compensation
  • labor and employment relations; Commission of Industrial Relations; fair employment practices
  • health and safety regulations; labor conditions
  • claims against the State
  • plant closings; job training; boiler inspection
  • Nebraska Wage Payment and Collection Act; Wage and Hour Act
  • Conveyance Safety Act

During session, the Business and Labor Committee meets on Mondays in Room 1524 on the 1st Floor of the Capitol.

Business and Labor Committee Policy on Hearing Schedules

The committee hearing schedule will be posted outside of the Room 1524 and Chairman Senator Ben Hansen’s office prior to the commencement of the hearing. The schedule for committee hearings will proceed as listed on the legislative website, assuming there are no unforeseen circumstances that require a change.

Business & Labor Committee Policy on Public Hearing Input

Due to COVID-19, the Legislature has expanded procedures for public input on legislation. For details go to

Submission of Position Letters

If you are not testifying in person on a bill and would like to submit a written position letter to be included in the official hearing record as an exhibit, the letter must be delivered to the office of the Business and Labor Committee Chair or emailed to the Committee Clerk at by 12:00 p.m. on Friday, the last work day prior to the public hearing.

The position letter must include your name and address, state a position of for, against, or neutral on the bill in question and include a request for the letter to be included as part of the public hearing record.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the office of Senator Ben Hansen, Committee Chair.

Phone: 402-471-2728

Committee Clerk, Ellie Stangl:

Legal Council, Benson Wallace:

Committee Members
  • Sen. Ben Hansen, Chairperson
  • Sen. Carol Blood
  • Sen. Tim Gragert
  • Sen. Steve Halloran
  • Sen. Matt Hansen
  • Sen. Megan Hunt
  • Sen. Steve Lathrop
Search Committee Page For:
Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
View video streamView live streams of floor activity and public hearings

Streaming video provided by Nebraska Public Media

Find Your Senator