The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Natural Resources Committee

January 3rd, 2024

The Natural Resources Committee is responsible for processing legislation involving the following subject areas:

  • Water
    • ground and surface water
    • water rights
    • water wells
    • irrigation
    • flood control
    • drainage
    • Department of Natural Resources
  • Public Power
    • public power districts
    • Nebraska Power Review Board
    • other utilities; electric co-ops
    • oil and gas; pipelines; ethanol
  • Natural Resources Districts; Natural Resources Commission
  • Environment
    • hazardous waste; underground storage; oils and fuels; combustibles
    • litter reduction; recycling; drink containers
    • Department of Environmental Quality; Environmental Quality Council
    • pollution; Environmental Protection Act; chemigation
    • air pollution
  • Energy
    • Nebraska Energy Office
    • wind energy
  • Recreation
    • hunting; fishing; trapping; game farming
    • Game and Parks Commission
    • parks, recreation areas; recreation roads
    • endangered species; wildlife damage
    • boating

During session, the Natural Resources Committee meets on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays in Room 1525 on the 1st Floor of the west side of the Capitol.

Nebraska’s unique Unicameral Legislature relies heavily on the “second house” – the citizens of the State of Nebraska. Ensuring that members of the public have the opportunity to have their voices heard is vital to the legislative process. The link below explains the ways for citizens to share their views on a bill with the Legislature.

Public Input Options.

The Chairman of the Committee is Senator Bostelman, LD 23.

The Vice Chairman of the Committee is Senator Moser, LD 22.

The Legal Counsel of the Committee is Cyndi Lamm.

The Committee Clerk for the Committee is Katie Bohlmeyer.

Committee Members
  • Sen. Bruce Bostelman, Chairperson
  • Sen. Tom Brandt
  • Sen. John Cavanaugh
  • Sen. John Fredrickson
  • Sen. Jana Hughes
  • Sen. Mike Jacobson
  • Sen. Mike Moser
  • Sen. Julie Slama
Search Committee Page For:
Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
View video streamView live streams of floor activity and public hearings

Streaming video provided by Nebraska Public Media

Find Your Senator