The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Education Committee

January 3rd, 2024

The Education Committee is responsible for processing legislation involving the following subject areas:

  • School districts; organization; powers; transportation; teachers; employees
  • Public, private, and parochial schools; programs; special education; gifted; student assessment; early childhood education; nutrition
  • Postsecondary education; state colleges and universities; community colleges; vocational schools
  • State aid; TEEOSA; school lands and funds
  • State Board of Education; Department of Education; educational service units; learning communities; NETC; Nebraska Public Media
  • Board of Educational Lands and Funds; Board of Trustees of Nebraska State Colleges; Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education; Technical Advisory Committee for Statewide Assessment

During session, the Education Committee meets on Mondays and Tuesdays in Room 1525 on the 1st Floor of the Capitol.

Committee Members
  • Sen. Dave Murman, Chairperson
  • Sen. Jone Albrecht
  • Sen. Danielle Conrad
  • Sen. Lou Ann Linehan
  • Sen. Rita Sanders
  • Sen. Lynne Walz
  • Sen. Justin Wayne
Search Committee Page For:

You are currently browsing the Education Committee blog archives for the year 2024.

Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
View video streamView live streams of floor activity and public hearings

Streaming video provided by Nebraska Public Media

Find Your Senator