The official site of the Nebraska Unicameral Legislature

Judiciary Committee


The following is information to assist you in presenting your testimony to the committee at a public hearing


  • Senator Steve Lathrop, Chair……………….…Omaha / District 12
  • Senator Patty Pansing-Brooks, V Chair..…Lincoln / District 28
  • Senator Tom Brandt..……………………..….Plymouth / District 32
  • Senator Wendy DeBoer…………………….Bennington/ District 10
  • Senator Suzanne Geist……………………………Lincoln/ District 25
  • Senator Terrell McKinney…………………….….Omaha/ District 11
  • Senator Adam Morfeld……………………………Lincoln/ District 46
  • Senator Julie Slama………………………………….…..Peru/ District 1

The order in which the committee will take up bills will be as posted on the Agenda but will be subject to change at the discretion of the chairperson.


The Legislature will no longer be accepting written testimony prior to the committee hearing in lieu of in person appearance. To appear on the transcript and committee statement, a testifier must physically appear before a committee and be available to answer questions from the committee members.

1) In-Person Testimony:

As always, persons attending a public hearing will have an opportunity to give verbal testimony.
Fill out a yellow testifier sheet only if you are actually testifying before the committee – Please PRINT legibly. Hand the yellow testifier sheet to the page as you come forward to testify.
*Only persons verbally testifying before the committee will be included on the Committee Statement

There is also a separate sign-in sheet available at the table for people who are present at the hearing who wish to express their support or opposition to a bill, but do not wish to testify. This sheet will be included as an exhibit in the official hearing record. Sign this sheet only if you are not testifying.

2) Position Letters for the Official Record – (please note changes)

If you are not testifying in person at a public hearing on a bill or resolution and would like to submit written comments to be included in the official hearing record as an exhibit,  you will find a link to submit your comments online at   Input the LB you are interested in, and click on the box that says “Submit Comments Online”.  Fill out all of the required fields and check the box that says you want your comments included in the official hearing record.  Comments for the record are allowed once a bill has been scheduled for public hearing and must be submitted prior to 12:00 p.m. CST on the last work day prior to the public hearing to be included in the official hearing record.

The comments submitted online prior to the deadline and identified as comments for the public hearing record will be the only method for submission of official hearing record comments other than testifying in person.  Letters and comments submitted via email or hand-delivered will no longer be included as part of the hearing record although they are a viable option for communicating your views with an individual senator. 

The introducer of the bill will make an opening statement, followed by testimony from proponents, opponents and neutral testimony. Closings are reserved for the introducing senator only.

When you come forward to testify, hand your yellow testifier sheet to the page. Please state your first and last name and SPELL THEM FOR THE RECORD before proceeding with your testimony.

We use a light system with a time limit for all testifiers other than the introducer of the bill. The green light will come on when you start, the yellow light is your one-minute warning, and the red light means to wrap up your final thought and stop. The committee members may also ask you questions at the conclusion of your testimony.

– If you have a prepared statement, it is helpful to make 10 copies for the committee and staff. Written materials will be passed out by the pages and recorded as exhibits
– Use of props is not allowed as they cannot be made part of the official record.
– If you are following other testifiers, please listen to their comments and try not to be repetitive.
– Applause or demonstrations of any sort are not permitted.

Committee Members
  • Sen. Justin Wayne, Chairperson
  • Sen. Carol Blood
  • Sen. Carolyn Bosn
  • Sen. Wendy DeBoer
  • Sen. Barry DeKay
  • Sen. Rick Holdcroft
  • Sen. Teresa Ibach
  • Sen. Terrell McKinney
Search Committee Page For:

You are currently browsing the Judiciary Committee blog archives for the year 2021.

Search Current Bills
Search Laws
Live Video Streaming
View video streamView live streams of floor activity and public hearings

Streaming video provided by Nebraska Public Media

Find Your Senator